Feng Shui

What are The Chinese Five Arts?

Once upon a time, some wise folks in Ancient China came out with the Chinese Five Arts, which involves: 

  • Divination
  • Medicine
  • Mountain
  • Physiognomy
  • Life. 

Let’s go through these 5 concepts one by one together ok!

The art of DIVINATION is basically predicting the future based upon numerical analysis, star alignments, complex calculations and dates. 

MEDICINE is ensuring that the 5 elements in the body, represented by the brain, heart, liver, kidneys and lungs, are able to operate optimally and healthily at a balanced level.

The MOUNTAIN art covers the principles of man and nature, for example, martial arts and self-meditation. 

PHYSIOGNOMY is the study of forms, be it the environment, building, or person. 

And finally, LIFE, which is also referred to as Destiny, mainly concerns Astrology.

These wise folks were able to use these 5 arts to advise the Emperor himself in various matters including the well-being of the country, timing and opportunities for warfare and other important actions. Their records became the sources of reference for other astrologers and advisers in China, including the famous strategist Zhuge Liang.

Now, why is this important in the study of Feng Shui? 

Well, Feng Shui actually originated from the Chinese Five Arts! More specifically, it comes from the Life, Physiognomy and Mountain arts.

Fascinating right! 

Share This